Name Game

Thursday, November 7, 2013
If you had to switch your first name, what name would you choose and why?

I don’t really have to switch names because I have more than enough to live by.

I’m one of those people who have been blessed by their parents with a uniquely kilometric name. I have four. People have often asked me how I survived writing all those names on my test papers in my younger years. Well, I didn’t have to. You see, the upside to having a lot of names is that you can actually choose which name(s) to use for a particular purpose – with the exception of transactions dealing with educational or government records.

I’ve been always called by my fourth name, Vianney. But a lot of times, it’s too sophisticated and wordy to pronounce that the letters end up twisted on their tongues thereby murdering my precious name. So over the years, I’ve learned to adapt to situations and use my other names.

I’ve used Maria when I was a customer service associate, dealing with clients over the phone. Trust me, Maria is way easier than Vianney especially when we’re supposed to deliver long introductory spiels.

When I order coffee at Starbucks (or any other cafe, for that matter), I use Carla. It’s a common name. I’m sure NO ONE will ever mispronounce it. The closest people can get to mutilating the name is by using K instead of C. And I’m fine with that.

The only name I haven’t really used is Bren and it’s pretty much because it’s my mother’s name. I don’t want to provide confusion as to who is who. But who knows – someday, I might find a reason to.

 

Leave a Reply

